Greece – 5 Euro, First drachma of 1833 bimetallic, 2021

Commemorative coin 5 euro bi-metallic, dedicated to the first coins of the Greek State, the first drachma of 1833. By virtue of King Otto’s Royal Decree of 8 February 1833, the drachma replaced the phoenix and, in August 1833, public revenue offices were explicitly prohibited from accepting Ottoman currency. As stipulated in the same decree, the drachma was to be issued in gold, silver and copper. In a similar vein, the capital was moved from Nafplion to Athens, in order to symbolically reconnect with Greece’s glorious past. The Athens Royal Mint started operations in 1836, but until 1841 only minted the drachma’s copper subdivisions. The minting of silver coins began in 1842. Gold drachmas were minted only in large denominations (20 or 40 drachmas), in a limited edition. By virtue of the Royal Decree of 12 July 1843, the exclusive right to issue drachma notes was granted to the newly founded National Bank of Greece, which maintained this privilege until the establishment of the Bank of Greece in 1928.

go to e-shop

The Committee’s “Greece 2021” Numismatic Programme

The Committee’s “Greece 2021” Numismatic Programme includes a unique three-part collection of 14 collectible coins.

More specifically, it includes:

Two bi-metallic coins, which depict the first two coins of the Greek State:

The Phoenix of 1828.
And the first drachma of 1833.


Eight silver coins, with the expansions of the Greek territory:

The first Greek State, with Theodoros Kolokotronis.
The Ionian Islands, with Ioannis Kapodistrias.
Thessaly and Arta, with Rigas Feraios-Velestinlis.
Epirus, with Athanasios Tsakalov.
Macedonia, with Pavlos Melas.
Crete, with Eleftherios Venizelos.
Thrace, with Georgios Vizyinos.
The Dodecanese, with Lady of Ro.

And four gold coins with the historical evolution of the Greek flag:

The flag of the Friendly Society.
The Greek flag of 1821.
The Greek flag of 1822.
The current Greek flag.

go to e-shop